• Welcome Message
  • Topics
  • Venue
  • Committee
  • Boltzmann & Young Scientist Awards
  • Plenary & Invited Speakers
  • Oral & Poster Presentations
  • Program
  • Registration
  • Proceedings
  • Accommodation
  • satellite meetiongs
  • Social Programs
  • Tour
  • General Information
  • Exhibition
  • Exhibition
  • Exhibition

The Boltzmann Medal

- Boltzmann Ceremony & Presentation: July 24(Wed), 2013

The Boltzmann Award was instituted by the Commission on Statistical Physics (C3) of the IUPAP to honor outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. It is presented by the Commission at the STATPHYS meeting. The award consists of a glided medal (the Boltzmann Medal) with the inscription of Ludwig Boltzmann.

The C3 Commission is pleased to announce that the Boltzmann Medal will be awarded during STATPHYS25 to

Giovanni Jona-Lasinio
Title: To what extent is it possible to extend thermodynamics to nonequilibrium?
for his seminal contributions to spontaneous symmetry breaking in particle physics and the theory of non-equilibrium fluctuations.click for short biography
Giovanni Jona-Lasinio has made seminal contributions to many areas of statistical mechanics. Together with Carlo Di Castro, he was the first one to show that renormalization group could be used to understand the critical behavior near second phase transitions. In the same field Giovanni Jona-Lasinio has later introduced probabilistic techniques, emphasizing the relationship between generalized central limit theorem and renormalization group. Giovanni Jona-Lasinio and his younger collaborators have more recently developed a thermodynamic theory for the fluctuations based on general principles. This approach generalizes the theory of Onsager in an off-equilibrium setting. Giovanni Jona-Lasinio has played an important role in using ideas coming from statistical mechanics within other contexts. Well known is the introduction of the concept of spontaneous symmetry breaking in particle physics with the famous Nambu-Jona Lasinio model.
Harry L. Swinney
Title: Instabilities and chaos in nonequilibrium systems: interaction of experiment and theory
for his ingenious and challenging experiments which have had a large impact on many areas of statistical physics.click for short biography
Harry L. Swinney is an outstanding experimentalist whose work has greatly impacted many areas of statistical physics. He has explored and elucidated the behavior of a great variety of systems in far from equilibrium conditions. Harry Swinney’s early work with Jerry Gollub confirmed the predictions of Ruelle-Takens' theory for the onset of turbulence. He has continued this seminal work with many ingenious experiments on chaos and pattern formation, on oscillating chemical reactions and traveling waves. Some seminal experiments which still wait for a theoretical understanding involve vertically oscillated containers of grains (sand, metallic particles, etc) which exhibit a great variety of patterns. Harry Swinney has also made important contributions to anomalous diffusion in laminar fluid flow and to instabilities in the propagation of cracks. He has recently started a new line of experiments on bacteria, showing how they can survive by reversibly changing shapes.
Previous winners of the Boltzmann Medal are:
1975 K.G. Wilson
1977 R. Kubo
1980 R.J. Baxter
1983 M.E. Fisher
1986 D. Ruelle and Y. Sinai
1989 L.P. Kadanoff
1992 J. Lebowitz and G. Parisi
1995 S.F. Edwards
1998 E. Lieb and B. Widom
2001 Berni J. Alder and Kyozi Kawasaki
2004 E. G. D. Cohen and H. E. Stanley
2007 Kurt Binder and Giovanni Gallavotti
2010 John Cardy and Bernard Derrida

Young Scientist Prize of the C3 Commission (Statistical Physics) of IUPAP

The Young Scientist Prize in Statistical Physics has recently been established by the C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the IUPAP. The Prize is aimed at recognizing outstanding achievements of scientists at early stages of their career in the field of Statistical Physics. The recipients must be no more than eight years past PhD on July 1, 2013, and are expected to have displayed significant achievement and exceptional promise for future achievements in the area of experimental or theoretical Statistical Physics. The Prize consists of a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient, a Medal and 1000 euros.

The C3 Commission is pleased to announce that the Young Scientist Prize will be awarded during STATPHYS25 to

Takahiro Sagawa (University of Tokyo)
for developing a comprehensive theoretical framework to characterize the thermodynamics of nonequilibrium systems with feedback control.
Kazumasa Takeuchi (University of Tokyo)
for his outstanding experiments on fluctuation properties of growing interfaces in turbulent liquid crystals.
Previous awardees of the Young Scientist Prize are:
Giulio Biroli and Tomohiro Sasamoto (2007).
Davide Marenduzzo (2010).